Dandelion Wine

This is one of my favorite books ever, so I chose it to design a book cover. This was well before I had any knowledge of Photoshop. I can take no credit for the background, but I did the rest, including the copy, layout, typography and “bar code”.

bookcover

Dandelion wine is a 1957 novel by Ray Bradbury about 12-year old Douglas Spaulding. Taking place in the summer of 1928, in the fictional Green Town, Illinois, the story is based on Bradbury’s childhood home of Waukegan, Illinois. The novel developed from the short story “Dandelion Wine which appeared in the June 1952 issue of Gourmet magazine.

 A story of enchanting summer days and the awakening of awareness. Bradbury evokes the immanence of our world. This is a book you hope to forget, and thus, be able to return to and enjoy again.